Children

  • Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. Proverbs 22:6 (NIV)
  • Eat = Read

Whenever you eat, you feed your body. Whenever you read you feed your soul.

  • Pass it on.

One generation commends your works to another; they tell of your mighty acts. – Psalm 145:4 (NIV)

  • Heaven.

I’m a Sunday school teacher with an assistant and here’s part of what transpired on August 12, 2012.

“Wouldn’t heaven be boring, I mean the Bible says when we get there, we will be praising God for ever and ever. That’s all we will be doing.”

I must admit the thought had crossed my mind also. Not once, or twice… Perhaps I needed to settle the issue once and for all in my mind. To think that one of our 5th graders would be the mentor for the moment did not even cross my mind until now as I pen these thoughts. Pride? Nooo.

She – the 5th grader – had her new phone, a late birthday gift as she put it. Fully loaded with a Bible App as well.

Okay, back to the question: Is heaven boring?

“How would I know, I’ve never been there before.” I said. That did not seem to satisfy our inquisitive little mind.

“Well you ought to know!” came her reply.

Because I’m the grown up? I wondered. Wow, okay, here goes.

Fortunately, where two or three are gathered talking about Jesus stuff, there is inspiration readily available.

“You know when someone does something nice for you, you feel like praising right?”

“Yes.” She said.

I continued: “Then also when you are doing things that you love, you feel like praising and being thankful, right?”

“Yes.”

Several other things came to mind like ‘no death’ and our ‘tears will be wiped away’ as good examples.

“Now if you put all these events back-to-back-to-back-to-back, wouldn’t that be like eternity? And you wouldn’t be doing the same thing over and over again. There would be so much to do.”

She smiled, Yes.

I went home thinking it would be so much fun in heaven.

  • Questions, questions!

I’m a Grand Pa, so I like telling stories about my experience with children.

The young lady in question is now in 6th grade and no longer in our church small group.

I wanted to remember her by writing this.

One Sunday, as the class was nearing it’s end; she asked why there was reference to sons all the time in the Bible. “‘Noah’s sons, who themselves had sons after the flood.’ If you have only sons, how can you have families.”

Smile.

There was no time to answer, because parents were coming to pick them up after service.

When I told her to come back next week for episode two, she said: “You’re ducking the question.”

She did say that sweetly.

“Not really” I said. “You see the Holy Spirit can help us ask very intelligent questions, and the same goes for answering them. I need to look it up in the Bible to make sure of the answer.”

Later, after reading all of Genesis 10, I realized what she meant. Fortunately, Genesis 11:10-25 cleared the air.

Next time if I bump into her, I can confidently tell her to keep reading and find that people in the Bible had: ‘sons and daughters.’

  • God hears my prayers.

The children learned that even though we may not get the answers we want, we can be sure that God hears our prayers. Sometimes he answers yes, sometimes no; or he may ask us to wait.

In the breakout session with the 4th graders, they continued to fill in their individual journals and read the passage Psalm 116:1-2 (GNT) I love the Lord, because he hears me; he listens to my prayers. He listens to me every time I call to him.

I later asked the question what it might be like when God listens to 6 billion prayers, at the same time. I proceeded to demonstrate to get their young minds to imagine. Making the sound of many voices speaking at the same time, I could barely grasp God’s awesomeness.

Then one of the kids raised up his hand and said it would sound more like shhhhhhhh….. Well I thanked him for his imagination.

However, it was two days later on Tuesday that I mined the golden thought deeper. For God to hear 6 billion voices at the same time, he keeps quite and listens.

  • Teaching and Learning.

Today the children were taught that we should worship God in good times and in bad times. The example of someone called Job in the Bible was used.

I learned the same thing myself.

Psalm 68:19 (AMP)
Blessed be the Lord, Who bears our burdens and carries us day by day, even the God Who is our salvation! Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

  • Main point: God will keep His promises!

Can you interchange “Word” with “Promise”?

That question came up because the Bible being used by one child was a different translation.

“Sure you can!” I said.

So the main point would then read: God will keep His word.

Well the discussion now swayed for a few minutes to our own personal commitments.
If we used the word promise every time we said something, the day would be overfilled with numerous examples: I promise to see you in school tomorrow, I promise to do my homework, I promise…..
No, we say we will do it and hopefully we do. Hopefully?

Now seemed a good time to insert a quick teaching point.

“How long can you wait for a promise?”

Several examples came up. One child said: “One week!” Another said: “One month!” We had fun as we went up to five years for one child. Interestingly enough that was probably half his age.

“Okay guys, would the length of your waiting be longer if you knew the person making the the promise?”

“Yes” They all agreed.

Here’s a verse to meditate on 2 Corinthians 1:20 (NIV)

For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” (which means: ‘so be it’) is spoken by us to the glory of God.

About Ken Gwira

Ken Gwira is a self-taught artist living in the USA. Aside from wood sculpture, he uses words and images to help people see life through a different lens [o].
This entry was posted in Let's talk about and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

